What is 'Contribution Margin'
Contribution margin is a cost accounting concept that allows a company to determine the profitability of individual products. The phrase "contribution margin" can also refer to a per unit measure of a product's gross operating margin calculated simply as the product's price minus its total variable costs. This metric allows an entity to evaluate different areas of business to determine which service or product line to emphasize based on the highest margin.
BREAKING DOWN 'Contribution Margin'Contribution margin is calculated by reducing the sales price by the total variable costs – regardless if the cost is materials, labor or overhead. For example, Company XYZ sells an item for $100. The company incurs a unit variable direct material expense of $12, unit variable labor expense of $25, $10 of variable overhead per unit and $8 of fixed overhead per unit. The contribution margin of one unit is ($100 - $12 - $25 - $10) $53 because the fixed overhead per unit of $8 is not considered.
Usefulness of Contribution Margin
Contribution margin is used by management when making pricing decisions. This is especially true in special pricing or special order situations where fixed costs are sunk costs and should not be factored into the decision whether to accept or reject. Negative or low contribution margins indicate a product line or business segment may not be profitable. In addition, the contribution margin is helpful to analyze the impact of different levels of sales. Finally, a business can use contribution margin to resolve bottlenecks. If limited resources are available, a business wants to contribute that scarce resource towards the most profitable items. Therefore, constraints are eliminated by awarding the most profitable items the resources.
Break-even or Target Income Analysis
The contribution margin is an integral aspect when calculating the break-even point of sales or a target level of sales. The contribution margin determines the portion of each sale that is attributed to covering fixed costs. For this reason, fixed costs divided by the contribution margin results in the number of units needed to be sold to break-even. To find a target net income, the target amount is added to total fixed costs.
Contribution Margin Ratio
Contribution margin is directly related to the contribution margin ratio. The contribution margin ratio can be calculated on a per-unit basis or an aggregate basis. The per-unit basis divides the contribution margin per unit by the unit sale price, while the total contribution margin ratio divides the total contribution margin by the total revenue. The figure will result in a percentage that indicates what percentage of each dollar of revenue is generated to cover fixed costs. This metric is calculated by dividing the contribution margin by revenue.