In a sign of the heated market for trading in Litecoin and Ethereum, U.S. exchange Coinbase was forced to temporarily halt trading for both currencies this morning.

Litecoin and Ethereum have registered phenomenal gains in the last couple of days. For example, Litecoin's price was up by more than 90% and was trading at $341.72 in the last 24 hours, as of this morning. Meanwhile, Ethereum was up by 31% and set a new record on $623.07.

At 17:03 UTC on December 12, Litecoin was at $326.36, up 67% from its price 24 hours ago, and Ethereum was at $604.80, an increase of 26.86% during the same time period. (See also: Is Litecoin The Future Of Cryptocurrency?)

It is still unclear whether trading has resumed in both digital currencies. According to the app, the problem with Litecoin and Ethereum trades was "investigated" at 7:39 PST(10:39 EST) and "resolved" at 9:01 PST (12:01 EST). Another incident impacting Ethereum trades is listed as being investigated at 11:04 PST (14:04 EST) and resolved at 11:45 PST( 14:45 EST). But the exchange still listed status for both cryptocurrencies as “Major Outage” on its website, as of this writing.

In the meanwhile, trader response to the outage ranged from incredulity to anger as the outage deprived them a valuable opportunity to profit off the increase in both cryptocurrencies' prices.

It will be interesting to see the effect of the outage on trading volumes for Litecoin and Ethereum, especially since Asian traders seem to be the primary drivers behind the projectile increase in both cryptocurrencies' prices in the last couple of days. 

The outage reflects Coinbase’s scaling problems as cryptocurrencies make their way into mainstream trading. The app suffered outages earlier this year due to increased trading activity.

Outages could also prove problematic for futures trading, as bitcoin prices on Coinbase's GDAX exchange are one of the inputs to calculate the CME's Bitcoin Reference Rate (BRR). (See also: CME To Launch Bitcoin Futures.)  The San Francisco-based company’s CEO Brian Armstrong warned of such outages in a post on Medium recently.

“Despite the sizeable and ongoing increases in our technical infrastructure and engineering staff, we wanted to remind customers that access to Coinbase services may become degraded or unavailable during times of significant volatility or volume," Armstrong wrote. "This could result in the inability to buy or sell for periods of time.” 

Want to learn how to invest?

Get a free 10 week email series that will teach you how to start investing.

Delivered twice a week, straight to your inbox.