What Is Financial Responsibility Law?
Financial responsibility law, commonly associated with vehicles, is a regulation that requires an individual or business to prove that they can pay for damages resulting from an accident. A financial responsibility law does not specifically require the party to have insurance coverage. Instead, the law requires that they be able to demonstrate the financial capacity to pay for the full amount of the damages, even if they are not at fault.
- Financial responsibility laws require proof that an individual has enough money or assets to pay for any damages they may cause, typically in an automobile accident.
- These laws are state-specific, so they may vary depending on where you live.
- Most auto insurance policies provide enough coverage to satisfy the requirements of financial responsibility laws, so keeping even the minimum amount of coverage can protect you from violating them.
- Failure to comply with this law may lead to penalties such as monetary fines, suspension of the driver’s license, and suspension of the vehicle’s registration.
How Financial Responsibility Law Works
Financial responsibility laws exist in all US states because not all have a compulsory insurance law. New Hampshire and Virginia, for example, do not legally require drivers to keep at least the minimum amount of auto insurance coverage the way other states do. In instances where an accident has occurred and the person at fault does not have insurance coverage, financial responsibility laws prevent the burden from falling entirely on the non-guilty party.
Many states consider an individual with an insurance policy to be compliant with a financial responsibility law. This is because most insurance policies have a minimum coverage limit that meets the state standard. In some states, this proof of insurance coverage or some proof of financial responsibility is required to register a vehicle.
Depending on the state, a surety bond can serve as an alternative to insurance coverage to satisfy financial responsibility laws. Some states will hold a cash deposit from the vehicle owner in lieu of requiring insurance. A business that maintains a fleet of vehicles operated by employees might be allowed to self-insure to comply with financial responsibility laws. The self-insurance option is typically not made available to individuals.
In Virginia, an individual can pay an uninsured motor vehicle fee of $500 at the time of vehicle registration. This does not remove financial responsibility from the owner if there is an accident with the vehicle. It also doesn't provide them with any form of insurance coverage. Virginia’s uninsured motor vehicle fee is valid for 12 months.
In states like New Hampshire and Virginia that do not require auto insurance minimums by law, there are often other expenses that replace these savings, such as the responsibility to cover damages in an accident or the requirement to pay the state $500 per year, respectively.
Requirements for Financial Responsibility Laws
Evidence of compliance with financial responsibility laws can be demanded by authorities for a variety of reasons. Proof can be required after an accident has occurred by police during traffic stops not related to accidents, when registering a vehicle, and when seeking the reinstatement of a revoked or suspended driver’s license.
Failure to provide proof of compliance with the law can lead to penalties, such as fines to the operator of the vehicle, the suspension of the operator’s license, and the suspension of the vehicle’s registration. This could also affect future attempts to procure auto insurance. Insurers might increase the rates they charge an individual who failed to comply with financial responsibility laws and it may even be difficult to find a company that will offer coverage altogether.
Lack of compliance with these laws can put other assets, such as a home, at risk if the vehicle owner does not have the financial resources to pay for damages that stem from accidents they are held liable for.